Article Updated: 19 May 2019
Another cool feature in their recent developments are Groups where you can add as many Contacts to the list, so that you can send and receive messages that everyone in that “circle” can see. It is actually a great way to arrange group meetings, discuss various topics with multiple persons in real-time.
However, sometimes , someone can abuse it and just poke around with you, constantly adding you to their Group(s), that you currently do not wish to participate, or simply don’t have time for.
VIBER – HOW TO PERMANENTLY EXIT & LEAVE GROUP IN MOBILE APP
STEP 1: Touch & Hold on desired Group and press Trash/Bin/Delete icon to delete it:
STEP 2: select Delete chat option:
STEP 3: Instead of regular Delete and Leave option, you may use MUTE option to spare yourself from future trouble:
Once the Group is “secretly” muted, you will stop any new conversation updates from the future, no more new messages notifications, but it will still be in your active Chats list. It is not a perfect solution, but at least, they will not be able to re-add you again, because you have not technically left.
In newer versions of Viber app (10.0+) — Mute chat option is only accessible from swipe menu (from right to left), right under Group title/name and RECENT Media. MUTE is no longer present when touch & hold on the group itself in the chats list. Instead of regular permanent MUTE, option is now replaced with Snooze for 30 days and move to the bottom of active conversations option. Principle is the same, except, if someone ‘pokes’ you directly with @yourname handle in group conversation — you will receive active notification in that case.
Also, if you have good friends of yours in that group, and you care about potential hurt feelings, this is an awesome alternative for “permanent” leave ;)
Alternatively, you can quickly access Group options menu while inside Group read mode by sliding the screen to the left to open hidden app menu from the right:
Group MUTE option is great, because if you are at school or work, you will not be notified by sound or message previews, but in the end of the day you can return to it and catch-up with what you’ve missed.
There is also one more thing to think about: if you later change your mind and decide to re-join, only the author (administrator of the group) can add you back. So, be thoughtful… MUTE may not be such a bad option after all! :)
Of course, you can decide to delete it and permanently leave:
VIBER – HOW TO LEAVE GROUP IN DESKTOP APP
Follow these instructions to delete and leave Viber group on your desktop / laptop PC:
1. right-click on your group in the left panel (where your chats are listed)
2. select Leave and Delete option from the menu
3. Click on Leave button and you are gone!
VIBER PRIVACY SETTINGS AND CONTENT PERSONALIZATION
In case you see promotional groups and offers from Viber’s Partners, it is not clear at the moment if you can opt-out from them, as there are no clear options available in the Settings page. However, restricting your Privacy options and disabling Content personalization might help: